The Cleveland Foundation Scholarships

Managed by College Now Greater Cleveland


Minimum GPA: 3.5 unweighted

Location or High School: CMSD elementary schools: James A. Garfield, Louisa May Alcott, or Charles A. Mooney

Field of Study: N/A

Deadline: March 13, 2024 @ 7 p.m. EDT

Application Type: General App

Maureen Kennedy Berg Scholarship

Purpose: For graduating high school seniors who are residents of Cleveland and will attend a two- or four-year accredited educational institution, and who attended one of the following Cleveland public schools for at least two years: James A. Garfield, Louisa May Alcott, or Charles A. Mooney. NOTE: This is a Biennial Award offered every two years (next award period: 2025-2026).

• Cleveland resident

• High school senior

• Minimum 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale

• Attended one of the following Cleveland schools for at least 2 years: James A. Garfield, Louisa May Alcott, or Charles A. Mooney

• Enrolled or enrolling full-time at an accredited nonprofit two- or four-year educational institution

• Financial need

Application Method: Submit a Cleveland Foundation Scholarships General Application here.

Selection Process: Selection decisions will be based on eligibility and completed application requirements with regard to the stated purpose and desired criteria for award of this scholarship.

Award Info: The annual award amount will be based on the performance of the fund and number of applicants selected. Past awards have been for $1,000. Formal notification of award will be made by College Now to the selected recipients. Award will be paid directly to the institution and must be applied to tuition, fees, books, supplies and/or equipment required for coursework.

Awarded Student Requirements:
1. Maintain full-time enrollment status

2. Maintain a minimum 2.0 GPA

Renewal: This is a one-time award and may not be renewed for subsequent years.